Tortall And Other Lands PDF Free Download

Tortall And Other Lands Pdf Free Download Free

Tortall and Other Lands: A Collection of Tales Collected here for the first time are all of the tales from the land of Tortall, featuring both previously unknown characters as well as old friends. Filling some gaps of time and interest, these stories, some of which have been published before, will lead Tammy’s fans, and new readers into one. Tortall and Other Lands: A Collection of Tales - Kindle edition by Pierce, Tamora. Download it once and read it on your Kindle device, PC, phones or tablets. Use features like bookmarks, note taking and highlighting while reading Tortall and Other Lands: A Collection of Tales.


The Arctic Incident PDF Free download. Go To

Tortall And Other Lands PDF Free Download

Tortall and Other LandsTortall and Other Lands PDF Free download is a collection of eleven short stories by Tamora Pierce, six of which take place in the Tortall Universe. It was published 2011.Tortall and Other Lands PDF Free download

The Tortall Universe stories:

  1. 'Student of Ostriches' (first published in Young Warriors): The Origin Story of Kylaia al Jmaa, eventually to become the Shang Unicorn.
  2. 'Elder Brother' (first published in Half-Human): In Wolf-Speaker, Numair turned a mage into a tree. But that had the effect of turning a tree into a man..
  3. 'The Hidden Girl' (first published in Dreams and Visions: Fourteen Flights of Fantasy): Overlapping with 'Elder Brother', this is the story of a girl who sets out alone to challenge the patriarchal religion of her country after her father's death.
  4. 'Nawat' (first published in Tortall and Other Lands): Following up from the end of Trickster's Queen, Nawat has to deal with tough choices after his and Aly's children are born.
  5. 'The Dragon's Tale' (first published in The Dragon Book: Magical Tales from the Masters of Modern Fantasy): On a trip to Carthak, a bored Kitten the dragon finds something worthwhile to do.
  6. 'Lost' (first published in Tortall and Other Lands): A self-doubting young math genius meets a darking and finds out her true potential.

The other stories

  1. 'Time of Proving' (first published in Cricket magazine): Arimu, a girl of the Wind People on her coming-of-age trial, meets a poet from the legendary Veiled City.
  2. 'Plain Magic' (first published in Planetfall): When Tonya's village becomes frightened of an approaching dragon, things don't look good for her..
  3. 'Mimic' (first published in Tortall and Other Lands): Ri loves to help wounded creatures, but she's tested when she finds a particularly strange one.
  4. 'Huntress' (first published in Firebirds Rising): Corey wants to fit in with the cool kids at her school and ignore her family's oddball religious practices. But there's a terrible price she's about to discover..
  5. 'Testing' (first published in Lost & Found: Award-Winning Authors Sharing Real-Life Experiences Through Fiction): The only non-fantasy story in the collection. The residents of a group home deal with getting a new housemother.


  • Abusive Parents: 'Lost' has Adria's father, Master Fairingrove. A big moment for her in the story is realizing that she's never going to gain his approval no matter how hard she tries.
  • Born as an Adult: In 'Elder Brother', Qiom the former tree comes into existence as an adult.
  • Character Title: 'Nawat', 'Lost' and 'Mimic'. Incidentally, all three stories made their debut in this anthology.
  • The Chosen One: In 'The Hidden Girl', Teky is chosen by the God in the Flame as its next Oracle, to teach the people of her country the contents of both of its holy books.
  • Cloudcuckoolander's Minder: In 'Elder Brother', Fadal has to help Qiom adjust to being a human, since he doesn't know anything about it.
  • Dead Guy Junior: In 'Nawat', Aly and Nawat name their triplets Ochobai, Junim and Ulasu, in honour of the three members of the Dodeka family who died in Trickster's Queen. They're not named exactly after them due to raka beliefs that it's unlucky to give a child the same name as someone living or recently dead.
  • Advertisement:
  • Disposable Vagrant: In 'Huntress', Felix and his 'pride' prefer to run down people who are criminals, drug dealers or the homeless, because no one will either miss them or feel sorry for them.
  • Fantasy Counterpart Religion: The unnamed country in 'Elder Brother' and 'The Hidden Girl' clearly practices the Tortall Universe's version of Islam.
  • Good with Numbers: Adria Fairingrove is a mathematical genius who, at the end of her story, is off to study at the Royal University of Tortall.
  • Human Sacrifice: 'Plain Magic' is about a teenage girl whose village stakes her out as a sacrifice to a dragon that's been terrorizing the area, on the advice of the local wizard. She's saved by a peddler woman who knows that this is unnecessary; apparently dragons in this world are ordinary if dangerous wild animals and the idea that they care about having virgins to eat is just a superstition.
  • Hunting the Most Dangerous Game: In 'Huntress', Felix and his friends run down people, usually low-level criminals or the homeless, in Central Park. When Corey refuses to participate, they try to use her as their prey, only for Corey's family's Goddess to turn it around on them.
  • A Load of Bull: In 'Time of Proving', the people of the Veiled City are sentient minotaurs.
  • Oddball in the Series: 'Testing' is the only non-fantasy story, and possibly the only non-fantasy work Pierce has ever published, period.
  • One-Word Title: 'Huntress' and 'Testing'.
  • Our Dragons Are Different:
    • 'The Dragon's Tale': Young dragonet Kitten encounters a long-dormant elemental dragon, who gives her the ability to speak mind-to-mind long before she would have ordinarily developed it.
    • 'Plain Magic': Lindri proves that the dragon is just a panicked wild animal, and that there's no need for any kind of virgin sacrifice as it just makes the dragon sick and more panicked.
    • 'Mimic': It's revealed that Mimic is in fact a baby dragon, and that dragons in this world have to pass a trial to become one.
  • The Sociopath: Master Fairingrove from 'Lost'. A big moment for his daughter Adria is realizing that he would always abuse her and her family no matter how hard she tried to gain approval.
  • Sweet Polly Oliver: In 'Elder Brother', Fadal turns out to be Fadala.
  • Urban Fantasy: 'Huntress' takes place in contemporary New York City and involves a teenage girl who discovers her family's weird pagan religion is more real than she'd thought.
  • Virgin Sacrifice: In 'Plain Magic', the people of Tonya's village try to deal with a dragon this way. Unfortunately, Tonya is one of the girls who draws the short end of the stick. Fortunately, travelling magician Lindri stops the dragon without any deaths.
  • The X of Y: 'Student of Ostriches' and 'Time of Proving'.